Kale & chorizo stew.

I love picking up free supermarket magazines and having a nose but rarely see any recipes that I like enough to try. But this month in the Morrisons magazine I spotted a stew recipe to try. I’ve not cooked with chorizo or kale before and this recipe looked quite simple so a good start! I don’t think I’ve had chorizo other than on a pizza and I’ve not eaten kale before (I say think because I’m not sure – my memory is pretty naff!) We’ve just finished having it for our tea and it’s definitely a keeper – delicious! So I thought I’d share it!

Kale & chorizo stew

2 tbsp olive oil
1 red onion, peeled and sliced
150g chorizo, diced
200g kale, shredded
½ litre vegetable or chicken stock (one cube)
1 x 420g butterbeans in water
1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded and diced
1 tbsp dried mixed herbs
1 tsp paprika
1 x 400g can chopped tomatoes

1. Heat the oil in a large pan and fry the onion and chorizo for a few minutes until the onion has softened. Toss in the kale, stock, butterbeans, squash, mixed herbs, paprika and tomatoes. Season to taste.

2. Bring the mixture to the boil, reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes, until the squash and kale are tender.

That’s it! It’s enough by itself but a nice crusty piece of bread would go with it so soak up the juice. This should serve 4 and is freezable!

2 thoughts on “Kale & chorizo stew.

    1. really simple! no the kids didn’t have it tonight, i knew M wouldn’t so i’d done them bolognese, however i think if we’d given it X i think he’d of liked it, he loves beans – kidney beans especially and sausages so think he’d of had a good go! definitely going to do again!

Leave a Reply

